

Media release

Basel, March 31, 2020

Prestigious award for clinical director of IOB, Hendrik Scholl

The 2020 Paul Henkind Memorial Award and Lecture has been presented to Hendrik Scholl for outstanding retinal research, at the end of February. Hendrik Scholl is Co-Director of IOB, Professor and Chairman of the Department of Ophthalmology, University of Basel and Head of the University Hospital's Eye Clinic in Basel.

In more than three decades, only four awardees came from outside the United States, and only two from continental Europe. Hendrik Scholl was the third from continental Europe to receive this honor from the prestigious American Macula Society. He received it at the Macula Society's annual meeting in San Diego, on February 21.

Hendrik Scholl is also Principal Investigator of the international clinical studies ProgStar (www.progstar.org) to study Stargardt Disease (STGD), the most prevalent form of juvenile-onset macular dystrophy, predominantly due to gene mutations in an autosomal recessive inherited pattern. Stargardt Disease is currently incurable.

At IOB, basic researchers and clinicians work hand in hand daily to **develop a gene therapy for Stargardt Disease**. They aim to start a clinical study within the next five years.

Through deeper insights and work to develop a treatment for juvenile macula degeneration, IOB researchers also hope to accelerate progress in related diseases, such as age-related macula degeneration (AMD). Every fifth person above the age of 65 suffers from AMD, every third above the age of 75. In industrial countries AMD is the principal cause for blindness. This genetically complex disease is also a research focus at IOB.

For more about Stargardt disease: click here

A photo of Hendrik Scholl can be downloaded at https://iob.ch/contact/media-downloads/

View <u>photos from the award ceremony</u>, and <u>click here</u> to view a pdf with all past awardees, and a biography of HPN Scholl.

The Paul Henkind Memorial Award and Lecture

The Award is given in memory of Paul Henkind, who was Chairman of the Research Committee of the Macula Society. The Award includes the Paul Henkind Memorial Lecture, to be given by the awardee.

Past Recipients from outside the USA:

- Alain Gaudric, MD, 2015 (France)
- Usha Chakravarthy, MD, 2012 (UK)
- Jose Cunha-Vaz, MD, PhD, 1998 (Portugal)









Alan Bird, MD, 1991 (UK)

About the Macula Society

The Macula Society is focused on new research in retinal and macular diseases. It is considered the most prestigious invitation-only clinical group in the international retina field. Membership is awarded for extensive contribution to retinal literature, exceptional achievements through cutting-edge research, and leadership in major clinical trials.

The Macula Society provides a forum for the presentation and dissemination of the most current and most advanced scientific information and research in retinal and macular diseases. The Macula Society was founded in 1977. Membership is by invitation only (and only granted to new members once a year), with acceptance criteria including extensive contribution to retinal literature, cutting-edge research and/or being investigators in important clinical trials.

The Macula Society recognizes outstanding achievement by its members and others through awards and lectures, and holds an annual meeting open to members, their guests, co-authors, and supporting company representatives.

Media contact IOB: Sabine.Rosta@iob.ch; +41 76 336 77 74 IOB Website www.iob.ch
Twitter @IOB_ch
YouTube IOB Basel Switzerland